Algonquin College is an #IELTS Test Centre.  IELTS, the International English Language Testing System, is an internationally recognized language test designed to assess the ability of candidates who need to study or work where English is the language of communication.  IELTS tests all four language skills — listening, reading, writing and speaking. The speaking test is a face-to-face interview with a certified examiner. The IELTS nine (9) band score system grades scores consistently. It is secure, standardized, benchmarked and understood worldwide.  IELTS is jointly owned by British Council, IDP: IELTS Australia and Cambridge English Language Assessment. Numerous organizations recognize the IELTS:

  • Universities, schools, training colleges, tertiary institutes
  • Government departments and agencies
  • Professional and industry bodies
  • Multinational companies and employers
  • Citizenship and Immigration Canada (CIC)

Why choose IELTS?

  • IELTS is the world’s most popular high stakes English language test.
  • IELTS scores open doors to international education and employment.
  • You can be sure that an IELTS score demonstrates your true ability to communicate in English across all four language skills – listening, reading, writing and speaking.
  • This test of real-life communication skills gives you a reliable and valid indicator of your English language abilities.
  • IELTS scores are currently accepted by over 6,000 organizations worldwide.

Academic or General?

The Academic Module is used to assess a candidate’s readiness to study in a post-secondary institutions where English is the medium of instruction. Professional Registration Organizations often request the IELTS Academic Module.The General Module is used to assess the general proficiency of candidates wishing to complete secondary school, a training program or work experience in an English speaking environment. The General Module is also used to assess language proficiency for immigration to Canada, Australia and New Zealand. When is doubt, it is the candidates’’ responsibility to contact their Recognizing Organization to determine which module is required.