

APPROVED

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS MEETING MINUTES

MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS OF ALGONQUIN COLLEGE, HELD ON MONDAY, JUNE 7, 2021 AT 6:30 PM, BY ZOOM VIDEO/TELECONFERENCE CALL.

Present:	Algonquin College Executive Team:
Jay McLaren, Board Chair	Chris Janzen, Senior Vice President, Academic
Claude Brulé, President & CEO	Diane McCutcheon, Vice President, Human Resources
Gail Beck, Board Vice Chair	Duane McNair, Vice President, Finance & Administration
Andre O'Bonsawin	Laura Stanbra, Vice President, Student Services
Audrey Claire Lawrence	Mark Savenkoff, Vice President, Advancement
Cyril McKelvie	Ron Deganadus McLester, Vice President, Truth,
Enrico DeFrancesco	Reconciliation and Indigenization
Ikram Zouari	Tracy McDougall, Director, Communications &
Jamie McCracken	President's Office
Jeff Darwin	
Rodney Wilson	Recorder:
Sheilagh Dunn	Victoria Tiqui-Sanford, Board Assistant
Stephen Tudor	
Steve Barkhouse	
Valerie Sayah	
Wayne Johnson	
Regrets:	
Shivang Dhawan	

1. CONSTITUTION OF THE MEETING & APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

Governor McLaren, Board Chair constituted the meeting at 7:16 p.m. and asked whether any Governors wished to remove or add an item to the agenda. No items were removed or added.

RESOLUTION

MOVED & SECONDED: S. Tudor & S. Barkhouse

THAT the Board of Governors approves the Annual General Meeting agenda of June 7, 2021. **CARRIED.**

2. Declarations of Conflict of Interest

Governor McLaren asked members to declare any conflicts of interest with items on the agenda. There was no conflict of interest declared.

3. <u>Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the Board of Governors meeting of June 8, 2020</u> Approval of the Board of Governors Meeting minutes of June 8, 2020.

RESOLUTION

MOVED & SECONDED: A. Lawrence & J. McCracken

THAT the Board of Governors approves the meeting minutes of June 8, 2020. **CARRIED.**

4. 2020-21 Draft Audited Financial Statements

Members were referred to the recommendations for the 2020-21 Draft Audited Financial Statements for approvals.

RESOLUTION

MOVED & SECONDED: S. Barkhouse & W. Johnson

 a. THAT the Board of Governors approves the 2020-21 Draft Audited Financial Statements of Algonquin College (Appendix A: 2020-21 Draft Audited Financial Statements – Algonquin College),

AND

b. **THAT** the Board of Governors approves the transfer of \$1,986,426 from internally restricted net assets to unrestricted net assets,

AND

 c. THAT the Board of Governors accepts for information, the 2020-21 Audited Financial Statements for 2364193 Ontario Inc. (Appendix B: 2020-21 Audited Financial Statements – 2364193 Ontario Inc.).

CARRIED.

5. 2021-22 Board of Governors Officers and Committee Membership Appointments

Governor Lawrence, Chair, Governance Committee referred members to the 2021-22 Board of Governors Officers and Committee Membership Appointments.

OFFICERS OF THE BOARD 2021-22

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE		
Board Chair	Jay McLaren	
Board Vice Chair	Gail Beck	
President	Claude Brulé	
Chair, Governance Committee	Jamie McCracken	
Chair, Academic & Student Affairs Committee	Cyril McKelvie	
Chair, Audit & Risk Management Committee	Ikram Zouari	
GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE		
Committee Chair	Jamie McCracken	
Committee Chair Committee Vice Chair	Jamie McCracken Stephen Tudor (pending LGIC	
	Stephen Tudor (pending LGIC	
Committee Vice Chair	Stephen Tudor (pending LGIC reappointment)	
Committee Vice Chair Board Chair	Stephen Tudor (pending LGIC reappointment) Jay McLaren	
Committee Vice Chair Board Chair President	Stephen Tudor (pending LGIC reappointment) Jay McLaren Claude Brulé	

Internal Governor	Valerie Sayah	
ACADEMIC & STUDENT AFFAIRS COMMITTEE		
Committee Chair	Cyril McKelvie	
Committee Vice Chair	Rodney Wilson	
Board Chair	Jay McLaren	
President	Claude Brulé	
Internal Governor	Andre O'Bonsawin	
External Governor	Audrey Lawrence	
Student Governor	Cyan Shields	
Internal Governor	Rebecca Wakelin	
External Governor	Sheilagh Dunn	
Internal Resource, SVP Academic	Christopher Janzen	
Internal Resource, VP Student Services	Laura Stanbra	
Internal Resource, VP Truth, Reconciliation, &	Ron McLester	
Indigenization		
AUDIT & RISK MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE		
Committee Chair	Ikram Zouari	
Committee Vice Chair	Jeff Darwin	
Board Chair	Jay McLaren	
President	Claude Brulé	
External Governor	Cyril McKelvie	
External Governor	Jamie McCracken	
External Governor	Rodney Wilson	
External Governor	Stephen Tudor (pending LGIC	
	reappointment)	
Internal Resource, VP Finance & Administration	Duane McNair	
Internal Resource, CFO, Finance & Administration Grant Perry		

RESOLUTION

MOVED & SECONDED: A. Lawrence & V. Sayah

THAT the Board of Governors approves the appointments of Officers of the Board and membership on Board Committees with terms beginning September 1, 2021 to August 31, 2022. **ABSTAINED: S. Tudor**

CARRIED.

6. Appointment of the Auditors for 2021-22

Governor Barkhouse, Chair, Audit and Risk Management Committee, referred members to the Appointment of the Auditors for 2021-22. The report requested for approval for the appointment of the auditors for 2021-22.

RESOLUTION

MOVED & SECONDED: S. Barkhouse & R. Wilson

THAT the Board of Governors approves the appointment of BDO Canada LLP as the external auditors of Algonquin College and its controlled entities for the 2021-22 fiscal year. **CARRIED.**

7. Banking Officers Resolution

D. McNair referred members to the Banking Officers Resolution. Each year, the College presents to the Board of Governors an updated list of the banking officers of the College. Once approved, the resolution is supplied to the College's financial institutions as validation of those individuals with signing authority for banking purposes at Algonquin College.

RESOLUTION

MOVED & SECONDED: S. Tudor & S. Barkhouse

THAT the Board of Governors approves the Banking Officers Resolution effective September 1, 2021.

CARRIED.

8. ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the Annual General Meeting was moved and seconded to adjourn by Governor DeFrancesco and O'Bonsawin at 7:25 p.m.

Jay M Jaren

Jay McLaren, Board Chair

Victoria Tiqui-Sanford, Recorder