

COLLEGE ACADEMIC COUNCIL

MEETING MINUTES

September 25, 2023

Chair	Kim Bosch	Р
Guest Presenter	Jeffrey Agate	Р
Academic Staff	. 9	
Algonquin Centre for		Р
Construction Excellence	Ken Hill	
School of Advanced Technology	Elizabeth von Moos	Р
School of Business	n/a	
School of Health Studies	Crystal O'Connell-Shuarte	Р
School of Hospitality and		Р
Tourism	Mark Brennan	
School of Media and Design	Brian Asselin	Р
Academic Access Centre	Melanie Farquhar	Р
Language Institute	Chinedu Mba	Р
School of Wellness, Public Safety		Р
and Community Studies	Crystal O'Connell-Schauerte	
Police and Public Safety Institute	Lisa Roots	Р
Pembroke Campus	Matthew Neadow	Р
Academic Access Centre	Melanie Farquhar	Р
Language Institute	Chinedu Mba	Р
Perth Campus	n/a	
Counsellors	Heather Bailey	Р
Librarians	Brenda Mahoney	Р
Support Staff	Pam Auchterlonie	Р
Students Association		
President, Students' Association	Abigail Soto Carvajal	Р
Director, Students' Association	Nishanth Babu Battula	Р
Learning and Teaching Services	Katherine Root	Р
Past Chair	Martin Lee	R
Dean		
Faculty of Health, Safety &		Р
Community Studies	Jane Trakalo	
Academic Chair		
Business Admin. Core & Service		
Courses	Pam Auchterlonie	Р
Ex. Officio Members		
Senior Vice President, Academic	Chris Janzen	R
Acting Senior Vice President,		
Academic AVP	Patrick Devey	Р
Vice President, Student Services	Laura Stanbra	Р



Registrar	Krista Pearson	Р
ACOnline Representative	Jessica Brown	R
Associate Vice President,	Kristine Dawson	
Experiential Learning &		
Innovation / Coop Education		
Representative		Р

1. Welcome from the Chair:

The meeting was called to order at 4:32 pm ET.

Motion 092523-1

The Chair called for approval of the September 25th, 2023, meeting Agenda. Mark Brennan seconded the motion. All in favour. Motion passed

2. Approval of the September 25th, 2023, meeting Agenda:

2.1 Approval of May 29th, 2023, Meeting Minutes – deferred.

3. CAC (College Academic Council) Business:

3.1 Introductions

New and existing College Academic Council Members gave roundtable introductions to all.

- 3.2 Chair's Report 2022-2023 deferred to October 30, 2023.
- 3.3 New Members/Council Membership, 2023-2024

The new College Academic Council Members for 2023-2024 are as follows:

- Abigail Soto Carvajal, President, Students' Association, 2023-2025
- Christopher Dore, Professor, Business Administration and Service Courses, 2023-2025
- Crystal O'Connell-Shuarte, School of Health Studies, 2023-2025
- Pam Auchterlonie, Support Staff, 2023-2025
- Pam Auchterlonie, Business Admin. Core & Service Courses, 2023-2025
- Mark Brennan, School of Hospitality and Tourism, 2023-2025
- Nishanth Babu Battula, Director, Students' Association, 2023-2025



3.4 Vote on 2023-2025 CAC Chair

Ken Hill nominated Katherine Root and Jane Trakalo nominated Kim Bosch; both nominations were not accepted.

The Vote on 2023-2025 CAC Chair deferred to October 30th, 2023.

K. Bosch will be happy to meet individually to answer any questions regarding the role, until the new Chair is announced.

ACTION: College Academic Council members reach out to K. Bosch if you have interest in or questions regarding the CAC Chair 2023-2025 position.

4. New Business:

4.1 New Proposed CAC Priorities, 2023-24:

Two priorities are currently outstanding from 2022-2023 and <u>submissions</u> are needed for the New Proposed CAC Priorities for 2023 -24.

The College Academic Council Priority Working Group selected priorities for 2022-23, by researching and determining which submissions held a broad scope of academic honestly, recognized potential barriers (standardization), received faculty feedback and priorities that aligned with the overall advancement of Academic integrity (e.g., misuse of artificial intelligence (AI)).

It was noted that priorities could be processed faster if they are reviewed by another committee that has more authority; and/or a committee that is close to CAC, which can make recommendations to move a priority to another group.

ACTION: Students Association to propose priorities for this year, President A. Soto Carvajal and K. Bosch to review priorities procedures. K. Bosch to share the new and last year's priorities to members.

4.2 Policy AC01: Students with Disabilities

J. Agate informed Council members, Policy ACO1: Students with Disabilities currently incorporates many updates since last being updated four and half years ago. The scope of the policy has been expanded by collaborating with the Centre for Accessible Learning and the Ontario Human Rights Commission.



See the below questions and comments in response to Policy AC 01:

- o Is the Centre for Accessible learning responsible for faculty and/or staff issues?
- Due to past breeches of confidentiality access, access is unavailable to the entire faculty site. Documents can only be viewed in HTML.
- The Policy has removed sample letters and replace with a link, which is also accessible on the CAL site.
- The wording used regarding training is not synonymous; training and resources have separate meanings and may be deceiving if use simultaneously.
- Friendly edits and wordsmithing, for example is there a term of office for members?
 And it should include meeting accommodation needs and allowing capacity.
- Students submitting accommodation request can be delayed due to the complexity of the process.
- The Centre for Accessible Learning can ensure all the processes for providing accommodations.

5. Adjournment:

Meeting adjourned at 6:35pm ET. The next meeting is scheduled for October 30th, 2023.